Perhaps my heart overstepped expectations re Dzhokhar Tsarnaev’s “goodness?”

Today, I heard again and again that there are photos of Dzhokhar Tsarnaev putting his bomb backpack right in front of, next to a child, perhaps even little Martin who died from the explosion. I would like to believe that Dzhokhar was operating in a trance like state, but that image is impossible to reconcile. We all know that no human is capable of acts under hypnosis or other mind control techniques, that we are not at-core capable of in the first place. I have so many drug trips under my belt, have sailed on 35+ hits of acid at once, and KNOW that I could not have done anything on those drugs that I wasn’t capable of doing in my deepest darkest place. One thing I could not ever do is purposely kill a child… or harm a child in any way… no matter how “gone” I was. I can be a raving rude bitch, and even throw a punch– at an adult– but never ever could I do such an action as evidently there is photographic proof of Dzhokhar doing last Monday.

Does this mean that my plea for his life, this plea against state sanctified murder, is null and void? no, not in this case. I still maintain that a reversal is more likely than not in this situation.

I hope I am right about this.  As buddhists we are lead to believe that ALL people, all sentient beings, are at core, Buddha nature… meaning Loving Kindness, Compassion, Generosity and Empathy. Though I am more of a Buddhist than any philosophical orientation, I don’t believe that was true of a Timothy McVeigh, and have to admit that capital punishment in that case was perhaps more right action than wrong (for the sake of all)… even if it was still murder at the state’s hands. And though the aching compassion I felt for this kid, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, these last few days is beginning to wane, I still hope that what the world is witnessing here is a case of periodic madness… mind control and madness… with the possibility of goodness and sanity overcoming in its place, thus becoming a lesson to all, which could be stronger than the act of violence in the beginning.

For this, I chose to believe and hope.

simone

About SimoneLazzeriEllis

Hello, I am a person in the after post modern world; a poet, author, film maker, & arts journalist by trade. I'm broke. I guess I'm a story teller and observer. The stories are all true, the reviews my best educated guess or rants in the middle of the night or behind a pony wall in a news room. You may disagree with what I say vehemently or not give a shit, or hey maybe awaken me anew with your Imagination and change boh our future-- yeah, I'd dig that-- .
This entry was posted in Political Human Planet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

